PDA

View Full Version : Bull Reds!

jimmyjlazer
08-21-2010, 05:21 PM
When do the bull reds run in galveston? and whats a good spot to fish for them?

Snapshot
08-21-2010, 06:31 PM
I don't know the best place but I have been told that they will start to spawn in September and into early October. I think that is when they are moving around the shores best. - open for corrections and additions as this is all hear say and I didn't pay anything for it. So that's about what it is worth

baitfish
08-21-2010, 06:32 PM
They usally start around the first to middle of august. Don't know how long it lasts. I used to go to san luie pass and fish for them every year till the hurricane came in. Dont know if the pier is still there or not.

BigMike005
08-21-2010, 08:08 PM
I'm not an expert by any means..... but, we catch them yearly at the north jetty on large live shrim in August and September. September is the best time to take one of the1/2 bay boats with a reasonable chance of landing good reds for cheap trip. Take mullet or cigar minnows for yourself and get your line down to the bottom quickly... the good reds will usually be quick to jump on a 6" mullet.

Bass Fishin Tejanos
08-22-2010, 02:19 AM
They start running around late Aug til early and middle of Oct. We usually come out to San Luis Pass and get into a mess of them. I have seen ppl also land them off the surf as well.

Baitfish, the pier is no longer there. We just left the pass and they are still not running but it should be getting good in a couple of weeks.

jackiekennedyfishingguide.com
08-22-2010, 05:13 AM
Tailend is around Thanksgiving.

jimmyjlazer
08-22-2010, 08:53 AM
Thanks!
has anyone had any luck with gold spoons?

FishOn012089
08-22-2010, 09:37 AM
Thanks!
has anyone had any luck with gold spoons?

Ive never had any luck using spoons I usually use shrimp or fresh chopped mullet thats what seems to do the trick for me

baitfish
08-22-2010, 11:00 AM