PDA

View Full Version : Misadventures of an OUTLAW

OUTLAW
11-23-2005, 12:47 PM
Thought this may bring a tear to your eyes and a smile on your faces for the holidays. Happy Thanksgiving!

This am was my only slot to fish on my days off so I planned a trip. I decided against the boat and lines at the ramp and chose the SINK yak and Jones lake marsh on the bayou side. (mistake #1).

Got a bucket full of great mudfish in the cast net so I was set. Fished for a couple hrs without a bite, water was slack as well. I got out to get rid of some coffee. Since I was only in about 2.5 ft of water getting out was easy, however getting in was not. I only held on to one side and once my leg was in it pushed the yak away and I took a little dip. In front of some witnesses. This is my first time to fish out of this thing, can you tell? I'm sure they'll have a good laugh later. (mistake #2)

After calling it quits around 10 cause I had to get back to my girls I paddled back to where I launched at at buds house in Bayou Vista. The water was pretty low as we all know and about 4 ft lower than the dock at the boathouse. I got up with some stuff and pulled up the yak. I wasn't thinking about the fact that the yak was a little longer than the slip for his boat (mistake #3). I remember taking one too many steps and watching the bottom of his boat disappear by the water covering my head. I was still wearing my life jacket and waders and the canal was only about waist deep right now anyway.

Luckily his wife was watching (yea how lucky is that, another witness) and all I got was wet. Somehow I missed the boat with my head, lol.

For those fishing this week, the tide was just starting to go back out about the time I had to go and it was pretty low as it was. Ended the day wet, cold and without a nibble on my great mudfish!

I don't usually share all my "Griswald" moments but thought you'd get a kick out of this one!

dwaynez
11-23-2005, 01:19 PM
LOL

We all have days like that

Gentleben