Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help or Hurt the fishing

Member Hooked on FishingTX bigfishtale's Avatar

Help or Hurt the fishing

http://www.hkatexas.com/2017/02/luce-bayou/

I've been hearing about this for a couple years now, but I guess they are finally going to stop talking about it and do it. I live right off Luce Bayou and original plans showed the pipeline coming right behind my house and dumping into the bayou right at the 2100 bridge. Now it looks like it will come in closer down towards the lake. Any thoughts on what it will do to the lake? There will be a pump station so it will have a constant flow, I'm sure based on supply needs by Houston. (2) 96" pipes is a lot of volume. I wonder if it will change the normal flow at Livingston dam...?

mikechell
    If I am seeing the map correctly, Luce Bayou is not a flowing stream. It's not fed from other reservoirs or other main flows. Pumping water in will backflow the Bayou for a while. That usually puts fish off for weeks, since the environment is completely "foreign". After a week or two, they should start acclimating and biting again.
    But, if the flow is not constant, the varying flows could drive some of the fish right out of the bayou altogether.

It will settle and the fish will get used to it ... but it might take months, maybe a year or more.

Senior Member Master in FishingTX luckydog's Avatar
    I have nothing nice to say about the run-off from Dallas.

Administrator Master in FishingTX vett0111's Avatar
    Hmmm. Guess time will tell. Thanks for info.
    Remember, always help who you can, whether you know them or not, blessings come when you least expect it.
    My intro - http://www.fishingtx.com/forum/showthread.php?t=19508

Senior Member FishingTX Accomplished Angler